Welcoming with a toddler and a baby

Claire Schnellmann

Today I spent the morning supporting an organisation that I know well, volunteering in their welcoming space with my toddler (2 years and 4 months) and my baby (9 months). The organisation is a small local charity working with women in vulnerable situations and often women have appointment slots to see a social worker or to receive regular financial support. Someone in the welcoming team couldn’t make it and I offered to step in, if I could bring the children.

Today’s role involved being present in a room adjacent to the social workers offices, answering the door, chatting with women until the time of their appointment, offering refreshments and some small administration tasks. Having supported the charity for some time now I already knew the role, I know some of the women who come regularly and I know the space.

Image by Freepik

One aspect that worked hugely in my favour was the room itself and its contents. Often women come accompanied by their infant or older children, therefore the organisation has toys, colouring materials, a cot, high chair and baby bouncer-seat all available in the room. This made it so much easier to come as I didn’t have to bring so many items for practical necessities and to entertain the todder – she had access to so many new toys and was generally pretty engaged for the full 3 hours. I also had suitable facilities to feed both girls and it wasn’t a problem for me to do this during quieter moments.

The primary aim of the role is ‘welcoming’ – both practically being the initial face, and also helping people to feel at ease. My children were an asset here! The toddler loved saying ‘hello’ and repeating people’s names, and fortunately the baby smiled. Women commented about her size and chatted both to me and the children. The morning was stimulating for the children and they seemed to enjoy themselves in the environment.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started