My journey through 3 different roles with 2 children

Hannah Duncan

I started volunteering at my local library when my youngest was 5 months old. I began by covering some baby rhyme time sessions which I had attended as a parent and eventually ran several with both my children present and ‘assisting’ me!

The group was on a weekday morning and for babies and children aged 0-5 with their carers. Generally the format was to sit in a circle with toy animals and shakers in the middle which the children could play with throughout. Then there would be 20-30 minutes of rhymes, led by either a volunteer or member of library staff. When I ran a session I would always begin with a welcome song, greeting each child by name, brought more props of my own (e.g. hand puppets or laminated fish), had a loose theme to each session and finished with the same goodbye song. I was not the only adult with two children at the sessions and I acted as leader and participant concurrently. In fact I would argue this made leading better as I could truly model how to participate in action rhymes with my children at different ages.

Both my children and I enjoyed a sense of belonging as we built up relationships with library staff, my eldest always wanted to stop and say hello if we were passing the library. It was also good for my wellbeing to see other parents I’d met at the group as I was out walking in the town, even if it was just a smile and quick hello as we passed.

I also felt as though I was giving something to my local community, using my teaching skills while I was on maternity leave to benefit others. Longer term it was a factor in my decision to study an MA (Early Childhood Education) at the end of mat leave as my interest in the early years and the realisation of how important they are grew.

“I acted as leader and participant concurrently. In fact I would argue this made leading better as I could truly model how to participate in action rhymes with my children at different ages.”

As a further opportunity, I planned and led several arts and craft sessions for primary age children. It worked slightly better for my husband to drop in with the children rather than me bringing them with me to the full sessions each time in this instance.

When they were present, my children were 1 and 3 and my eldest enjoyed joining in with the activities that older children were doing. My son though just enjoyed toddling round the library! I think it was the beginning of the journey to me returning to work and although at the time there was no obvious impact on them seeing me lead something I think it was perhaps the first time my daughter really saw me as an adult who can do other things aside from ‘mummying’. I was approached about the opportunity as I’d already done an informal interview (which I took my son to!) in order to help with the rhyme time sessions. The usual leader was due to go on mat leave so I helped alongside her at first then planned further sessions and led them with another volunteer once she had left.

“I think it was perhaps the first time my daughter really saw me as an adult who can do other things aside from ‘mummying’.”

More recently, I have been working as an online tutor with the National Tutoring Programme since February and this is working really well. At first my husband did half days childcare while I taught for 2 hrs each afternoon but when schools reopened and he went back out to work I had to become inventive to keep my 4 year old and 2 year old entertained. I have created a range of tuff tray activities (e.g. farm created with toy animals, tractors, coco pops for mud, oats, weetabix walls…) and sometimes they nap or watch tv while I teach. They have amazed me with the way they play together while I work, they have stepped up to support me, knowing I can’t respond while I’m in live lessons. Of course the arguments and snatching resumes the minute I reappear!

My agency knew I was looking after two young children when I first signed up but that was during lockdown. I am not sure if they are now aware that I am working whilst caring for the children at home (predominantly, they do go to nursery 1.5 days but unfortunately most of the schools needed hours that were not at those times). I have popped out of lessons to sort out little things and just told the students I was helping one of my children and put mute on for a moment…it hasn’t been a problem so far.

“They have amazed me with the way they play together while I work, they have stepped up to support me, knowing I can’t respond while I’m in live lessons. Of course the arguments and snatching resumes the minute I reappear!”

I am hoping to write a book full of ideas for parents at home with their young children based on things I have done with mine. I think you can do so much and give them such a wide range of experience with just a little creativity, and without spending much money on gadgets or toys. I am also currently working on my MA dissertation focusing on flexible working primary schools.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started